We Are Entrepreneurs

Over the weekend in downtown Manhattan, I went to a Women’s of Success Film Festival. Writers, Fashion bloggers, Models, and Agents united on stage to speak about what they did to get where they are. That night sparked a conversation between my significant other and I about who inspires us and what our goals in life were. Immediately I thought Audrey (read: Audrey Hepburn). Audrey was more of a recent idol in my life; there was always this gap of who would inspire me. It was something I looked really hard at and valued due to the fact that I wanted to look up to someone who inspired growth in me– to do better and be better. Anyone that knows me sees that my personality is very aggressive and clumsy. There was always this sort of grace I admired in other women, something I could not mirror. Audrey had this sort of grace and elegance of a queen and the unselfishness of a caregiver– this is something hopefully I could take from. The most interesting part of our late night conversation was the different reasons for our idols. While I looked up to people who inspired growth and maturity, my boyfriend tended to admire people based on their honesty.

“What do you want to do?”

“I want to inspire people, to have little girls and boys look at me and think, “if she could do it, so can I”. I don’t want people to give up on their dreams because they are not traditional. I want to be on TED, that is one of my many goals. Once I’m up there on stage, knowing I make a difference in people’s outlooks on life, that’s when I would know that I made it.”

The faux interview went back and forth between the two of us. Touching on ideas that we never really got to speak on. What are your ideas? Where do you see us in the future? What are some of your goals? These were the big questions of life. Two college students speaking through a virtual screen about their ideas and reasons for their decisions in life. If I could take a mental picture of one moment, this would be it. I think about my life in fragments, moments that can be written about. Two dreamers in one conversation talking about life. I think that should be the beginning of a great story, the journey to see where both of us will end up. Whether it be together or apart, situations that shape our future. We are believers. We are entrepreneurs.

“I’m going to make more money than you.” I stated bluntly, staring at the camera.

“Great! Then I get to kick back… I’ll be the housewife.”

Leave a Reply

