Influence

So I have a question, do people change during relationships? And if so, how much do they change? Are these changes purposeful, or are they involuntary– are they a little bit of both? I personally don’t feel like I have changed much, but maybe I have. Lost a few friends here and there, but that always happens so it’s not that out of the ordinary. Perhaps, I haven’t changed all that much at all. Is it possible to let someone, who is such a huge part of your life now, not change you as time goes on?

It is common knowledge that people evolve over time. But they evolve on their own. It is almost like humans evolve into actual people, they change into the personalities that they will have later in life. Finding who I was was probably the hardest thing for me to do. I thought you sort of have a selection of people you can be and you just click one. Like all these different versions of who I could be are laid out in front of me and all I had to do is stick with one of them for the rest of my life. There is the concept of reinvention, like after a breakup you go through changes and morph into someone different. But you can’t really do that, can you? You will always be you, and no amount of modification can change that.

Sure there is maturing into someone, something, better. But maturity isn’t a change of personality entirely. Can another person change your personality entirely? Does all the amount of care you have in the world allow you to change for someone you love? I am inclined to say no, especially since I’m a very take-me-as-I-am person. Since others have adjusted to my outrageous personality, isn’t it only fair to adjust to theirs? But adjusting to another person is a form of changing in itself. A form of maturity?
So many questions…

Leave a Reply

